top of page

Iraqi War Poem Planned

After I finished "Every Seed of the Pomegranate" I thought I was done reading, talking, thinking, and writing about the Iraq war. And when Adnan al-Sayegh asked me to polish the English versions of his selected poems with Abbas Kadhim, it felt like a gift. Now I feel compelled to deal with the end of the war, with the wreckage my country has left, and write a long narrative poem about the friendship between an Iraqi interpreter and a US soldier. I'm basing it on the ancient poem "Gilgamesh," and I'm calling it "Enkidu," who is the king of Uruk's companion. I'm interested in talking to anyone and everyone about my ideas, and would love to hear from Iraqis, US soldiers, about book recommendations, blogs, websites, etc. Thank you.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page